Abud Efendi Mansion, owned by Yücel Cultural Foundation covers a total area of 3,243 square meters including its garden and annexes.
The structure, which was constructed from wood in the late 1800's achieved its current appearance by mortaring and painting its exterior walls during the 1930's. This renovation has also protected the building from historical Istanbul fires.
There is a magnificient fountain, made of brocatelle, which can be considered as a unique example of the era, at the entrance of the mansion.
Interior of the structure which was built in the seraglio order form, bears typical Ottoman architectural character with a two-way stair system.
Interior ornamentation of the structure which is as stunning as its architecture is comparable to the best examples of the period.
The building has one of the most beautiful examples of stalactite ceilings with landscape pictures, which has survived until today, since the 19th century. It was registered by High Board of Monuments, in 1983, as a second-order historical monument that should be preserved. Later it is updated as a first-order historical monument.
In 2019, the mansion is accredited and restoration works have started faithfully. The restoration process is completed in 2023, also with landscape plan. The mansion consists three main floors and an attic. (960 m2 area of usage in total.) First floor of the mansion is connected to another building, which has 2 floors. This building was used as a bath, in 20th century.
It is known that, Abud Efendi, a pillar of Damascus society, hosts merchants, who do business with the Ottoman court, in the mansion, which is close to Topkapı Palace.
The mansion is located in historical Eminönü district, at a distance of 70 meters from Hagia Sophia and adjacent to Basilica Cistern, the region between Gülhane and Sultanahmet neighborhoods, contiguous to Alemdar street (Streetcar track which is the main transportation route in the district) and Salkım Söğüt and Zeynep Sultan streets in the rear. The building also has a car park, with 110 car capacity. The 845 square meter terrace, that is neighboring the mansion, offers its guests a very beautiful Hagia Sophia view.
It is surrounded by ruins from the Constantinople period and parts of Chalkopteria–Hagia Priory, which were one of the Constantinople’s first and most important structures, are presumed to be located in this area.
In 1939, Alemdar Cinema was built next to the mansion, the first of its kind, where women and men could watch movies together. Today it is runned as Alemdar Restaurant.
The mansion was donated to our foundation in 1972 after Yücel Cultural Foundation was was established in 1969. An indoor sports hall was annexed to the backyard in 1948. The building was used as Yücel Language Center where accounting, language and typewriting courses were given. It also hosted Sisterhood Club and Youth Club which were some of the social and cultural activities established by the foundation.
The sports centre is Turkey's first sports hall. Since the Republic's early years, it was in the service of all sports fans. Basketball teams of important sports clubs such as Beşiktaş, Fenerbahçe and Galatasaray have used our sports hall for years. Now, the hall is renewed as Yücel Show Centre, which is multi-purpose and has 240 audience capacity, as a part of the renovation project.
Relievo, restitution and restoration projects have been approved allowing multi-functional use by the Cultural Assets Preservation Office.
Electricity, statics and mechanical projects have been completed. Restoration expenses and estimated cost has been calculated. Restoration will be done by our Foundation.
Yücel Cultural Foundation is currently awaiting entrepreneurs who are interested in administration and management of the facilities.Mansion; It hosts advertising and magazine shoots, exhibitions, biennials, theater, concerts, festivals and events.